Share.

Can we expect some JRPGs to be announced?

Xbox head, Phil Spencer, says Microsoft plans to get some Japanese publishers on board for their E3 2018 presentation.

When asked whether we could expect to see any JRPGs in Xbox’s E3 lineup this year, Spencer tweeted, “As of now, yes. Things can change but like last year I wanted to make sure we supported our Japanese publishers on our stage and this year we are working to do the same. It’s important to us.”

Spencer added that he’d like to see some SEGA franchises come to the console, like Yakuza, and said that “support from the Japanese publishers has been a focus.”

Last year, Microsoft cancelled Scalebound, a platform exclusive action RPG that they were developing with Japanese studio Platinum Games. The title was first announced at E3 2014 and after the cancellation, Microsoft renewed the trademark later in the year, but whether that was purely to keep hold of it, or because they have something planned further down the line is anyone’s guess.

Spencer acknowledged the demand for JRPGs on Xbox back in 2016, saying, that he’s “asked a lot about JRPGs, and why don’t we have stronger support in Japan. Obviously Xbox isn’t as strong a brand in Japan as some of the Japanese brands. From a third-party side I know we need to do better, and the fans tell me that.”

Microsoft’s E3 2018 presentation will be held on June 10 at 1PM PT / 4PM ET / 9PM BST (that’s June 11 at 8AM in Australia) in the Microsoft Theater, located across the street from the Los Angeles Convention Center.

You can keep up to date with all of the E3 2018 press conference and livestream times right here.

Shabana is a freelance writer who enjoys JRPGs, wine, and not finishing games. Follow her on Twitter and Instagram.





Source link

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here